Sunday , May 19 2024

IPL 2021: Rishabh Pant joined this special club as soon as he became the captain of Delhi Capitals.

Rishabh Pant joined special club (photo: IPL)

Rishabh Pant will captain the Delhi Capitals in IPL 14. JSW-GMR-owned Delhi Capitals have taken the decision after Shreyer Iyer was ruled out of the tournament due to injury. Kiran Kumar Gandhi, chairman and co-owner of Delhi Capitals, announced this on Tuesday. After receiving the command of Delhi Capitals, 23-year-old Pant said that it was a dream of me to captain this team, I am thankful to my team owners who deemed me worthy of this role.

Rishabh Pant joined a special club after getting the command of Delhi Capitals. Rishabh Pant is the fifth young player to captain the IPL. Before him, Indian team captain Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Steve Smith and Suresh Raina are the young players to captain the IPL. Kohli and Smith took the command of the team at the age of 22 while Iyer and Raina took over at the age of 23. Pant has also got a chance to captain the Delhi Capitals in 23 years. It is worth noting that Iyer had injured his left shoulder during fielding in the first match of the recently played three ODI series with England. Pant, who was included in the team in place of Iyer, showed his mettle in the last two ODIs. He scored his best in the third match. Pant scored 77 in the second match and 78 in the third match. Iyer captained the Delhi Capitals to the final in the IPL played last year.

When Pant was made the captain, Iyer said, “When I got a shoulder injury and Delhi Capitals had to choose their new captain, I had no doubt that Rishabh would be the best man for this task. I would like him to take his team forward I wish you all the best “. At the same time, after becoming captain, Pant said that I started my IPL journey from Delhi six years ago. I had a dream to captain this team, I am thankful to my team owners who deemed me worthy of this role. There are so many good and big people around me that I am not waiting to give my best for my team

About admin

Check Also


Andre Russell, Varun Chakaravarthy and Lockie Ferguson shared the spoils as Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »